FORT WAYNE, Ind. — A farm family from LaPorte County has been named the winner in Indiana Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer Achievement Award. The results were announced at the IFB annual meeting in Fort Wayne.

Matt and Kristen Schafer farm with Matt’s father, uncle and brother-in-law. In addition to corn and soybeans, the farm grows seed cucumbers, green beans and some wheat, and includes a feedlot. They have a son, Lucas.

Matt’s knowledge of the planting process, such as buying inputs and creating planting intention maps, came in particularly handy in 2007 after his father was incapacitated after an ATV accident. Kristen is a teacher who currently stays home with the couple’s young son and is looking for more ways to be involved on the farm.

The Young Farmer Achievement Award recognizes young farmers who earn a majority of their income from their farms. They are judged on their achievements in their farming operation and on their leadership abilities.

The runners-up for the award are Craig and Mindy Fruechte, Adams County, and George and Carly Kakasuleff, Hamilton County.

The state winner receives a $6,000 cash prize from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance; 250 hours maximum free use of one M-Series tractor — and loader, if appropriate — courtesy of Kubota Tractor Corp.; the David L. Leising Memorial Award; and expenses paid to the 2014 national convention.

Runners-up receive $1,000 cash prizes from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance.

Winners in this contest, as well as two other statewide contests, will advance to the national Young Farmer and Rancher contests, where they will compete against young farmers from across the country at the American Farm Bureau Federation’s annual meeting Jan. 12-15 in San Antonio, Texas.