ST. LOUIS — Thanks to the help of local farmers, America’s Farmers Grow Communities has invested more than $13 million in rural America over the past four years.

Now in its fourth consecutive year, America’s Farmers Grow Communities gives farmers the opportunity to win a $2,500 donation for their favorite local nonprofit organizations.

Winning farmers have the opportunity to make a difference in their own communities by enrolling and nominating a nonprofit organization of their choice. Over the past years, organizations have used the funding to purchase vital equipment, supplies and resources for the betterment of their community.

“Farmers have really stepped up to the plate since Grow Communities piloted in 2010 and have thoughtfully chosen thousands of deserving organizations to receive the $2,500 donation,” said Deborah Patterson, Monsanto Fund president.

Each year in an effort to expand the impact of Grow Communities throughout rural America, the Monsanto Fund evaluates new counties to be included in the program. Thanks to the addition of 18 new eligible counties this year, Grow Communities now reaches 1,289 counties across 39 states.

Farmers can register for a chance to donate to their favorite nonprofit organization online at . The deadline for eligible farmers to enter is Nov. 30.

In December, the Monsanto Fund will then select one winner at random in each eligible county and announce winning farmers and recipient nonprofits in January.

New to the Grow Communities program last year was the chance for community members to “plant” their ideas. Rural community members can now visit the Grow Communities website and submit an idea or initiative in need of funding. Eligible farmers are able to review planted ideas and consider them in their registrations.

Farmers have helped fund more than 5,200 nonprofit organizations in rural America through America’s Farmers Grow Communities. This program is part of the Monsanto Fund’s overall effort to support rural communities.

For more information about this program and to view the official rules, visit